The Board

Kazmierz Gierżod, Albert Grudziński, Andrzej Jasiński, Bronisława Kawalla, Andrzej Komorowski, Jerzy Koralewski, Zbigniew Lasocki, Andrzej Leraczyk, Piotr Paleczny, Karolo Radziwonowicz, Ewa Sławińska-Dahlig, Ryszard Sławiński, Józef Stompel.

President of the Board
Kazimierz Gierżod

General Director of the Society
Antoni Grudziński

The present Board of the Fryderyk Chopin Society was elected by the General Assembly on 11 December 2016. The voters represented more than 100 Society members, including those belonging to the Society’s local branches operating across the country. At its first meeting the new Board elected its Executive Committee.

The President of the Fryderyk Chopin Society is Prof. Kazimierz Gierżod, a pianist of note, a long-time rector of the Music Academy in Warsaw, a teacher of several generations of Polish and foreign pianists, a juror of prestigious piano competitions, including the International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw.

The Vice Presidents of the Society are: Prof. Bronisława Kawalla, a concert pianist, a respected teacher at the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw, and Prof. Józef Stompel, a distinguished pianist and a teacher at the Music Academy in Katowice, where he runs a piano class.

Other Board members include Prof. Piotr Paleczny, leading Polish pianist, professor at the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw, Prof. Zbigniew Lasocki, former Director of the Łódź Philharmonic, Prof. Andrzej Jasiński, pianist, teacher at the Music Academy in Katowice, chairman of the jury of the 14th and 15th International Chopin Piano Competitions in 2000 and 2005 respectively, Karol Radziwonowicz, versatile pianist and piano teacher, graduate of Polish and US music universities, Andrzej Komorowski, family coach and domestic mediator, columnist, member of the Board since 1992, Albert Grudziński, musicologist, former long-time Director of the Fryderyk Chopin Society, Andrzej Leraczyk, Director of the Chopin in Autumn Colours festival at Antonin, Ryszard Sławiński, politician, journalist, two-term senator, member of the National Radio and Television Board in 2004-2005, Ewa Sławińska-Dahlig, musicologist, author of books and popular articles on Chopin-related subjects and folk music issues focused on central Poland’s regions.